Summer Plans

Just before school got out for summer, I gave some of my students square sheets of paper and I asked them to write down or draw (because it’s art) 10 things they hoped to achieve before the start of the next school year. I told them it could be realistic or not, it just had to be something that was important to them.

Then I walked them through turning their paper into a simple origami dove, which I thought was neat. They didn’t think it was as neat (it was like the last day of school). The whole idea was that the dove is a symbol for the Holy Spirit and the gospel theme for next school year is

I can do all things through Him who strengthens me. – Philippians 4:13

It’s a Catholic school, by the way. The idea is that they would keep the doves all summer and try to remember what they want to achieve, and that God is the power they have to reach their goals. Anyway, I did the project, too, because I do think it’s a nifty idea. I told my students that they didn’t have to share their lists – it should be just for them – but I’ll share my list!

Click here to read the rest of this post and get directions for folding an origami paper dove.

2 thoughts on “Summer Plans

  1. Good list! If you’ve been considering Murakami’s 1Q84, I urge you to try some of his earlier work. I’m told the latest novel just doesn’t live up as an homage to Orwell. The original Zelda and Metroid are a bit more confusing without a map – I recommend the Super Nintendo efforts (Super Metroid and Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past).

    I look forward to hearing about your progress at the end of the summer.

    • Hey Eddie! I looooove Haruki Murakami! I’ve read The Wind Up Bird Chromicles and Wild Sheep Chase, as well as some of his short stories 😀 I’ve been thinking about picking up 1Q84, but I think I might wait until its a little less expensive in paperback or in Google Play… I think Super Metroid is the one I’m going to play; those old platforms and game styles are pretty new to me so I’m getting a lot of help 😀
      Thanks!

What do you think?

