Yeah, that’s Fake: Trolling At-Home Science Hoaxes

I’m not trying to be a jerk, it’s just when I see a DIY science project that I know is fake, I feel like it’s my duty as an educator to set the record straight. The internet world has plenty of compelling but bogus tutorials on how to do sciencey things that dupe the best of us. I’ve definitely been seduced by the flashy YouTube videos and convincing effects, and it’s a pretty big bummer when that cool glowing soda DOES NOT glow. And with all kinds of home blogs and Pinterest above all things, these hoaxes can get around fast, leaving a trail of tears from disappointment. I see a lot of the same hoaxes on Pinterest, and I always have the urge to comment and let the pinner know it’s fake. But then usually my comments get deleted, because sometimes people don’t like to be wrong. I mean, I’m nice about it: I try to explain different ways to do sciencey things with real science. Here now are 3 hoaxes I see the most online, and the science behind why they don’t work, but the hoax is so compelling: Water Marbles, Glowing Mt. Dew, and DIY Helium Balloons.

Click here to read the rest of the post and find out about those tricky hoaxes

What do you think?

