Summer Road Trip: How to Pack Smart & Light

What and How to Pack it up…

This summer, I’m going on a road trip with a youth group I help counsel. It will take us from Oregon down to San Diego on three charter buses for all 130 of us! The whole trip will be 5 days long, and since there are so many of us, I need to think about how to pack what I need lightly.

My goal is to pack only my essentials and to limit myself to one duffle bag and one small backpack. My duffle bag is a typical Nike gym bag (it’s pink!) and my backpack is a child’s sized hiking pack (I’m a small person) with lots of extra compartments and straps. In all this I need to fit clothes, toiletries, bedding, entertainment, snacks (see How to Healthy Nom), and chaperone essentials like my itinerary, first aid, and all the emergency contacts for our group. It’s kind of like packing for a hiking trip, and I actually really like that! I often go out of town for a day or two to stay with friends, so I always have a “go bag” on hand with miniature and condensed versions of my daily needs, and that will help a lot with keeping myself organized for this trip.

Click here to read the rest of the post and get tips on how to pack smart and light for a road trip!

What do you think?

